NEW YEAR’S EVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will not be going out tonight, or doing very much. In fact, I’m turned off by the odd, creepy aggression I see bubbling out of people today, as they race around, getting ready for their big night. Not that celebration is wrong, but I can tell real enjoyment from fake from a mile away. The energy out there today is not delightful, at least where I live.

But! I did want to write about resolutions. I don’t like those either.

Here is how I handle resolutions. First, I heard author Tim Ferriss mention something on a podcast today- a year review. You think back over your year; what did you do well, what not so well, and so on. What could you learn? I’m going to try this for the first time this year. It’s not a time to self hate, but a chance to reflect honestly and see what you could improve on, and where you’re growing. So I’ll be trying that.

What I’ve been doing for two years now is making a list of things I want to do. Actually, it has been restaurants only. I vowed to try twenty new restaurants last year, and did. It’s fairly easy, but pushes me out of my comfort zone, and I get to see a new place. I’ll be modifying this list in 2016. I’m not completely sure what it will be yet, but here are some possible elements: restaurants, natural/scenic places, new towns. I really like this kind of format. It’s not about planning on improving myself. It’s not about promising that I’ll do something, or setting myself up. It’s about having fun, trying new things, getting out of my comfort zone a little, without too much stress. It is about trying something new, which is always good.

Have a great celebration.

 

Jake

One thought on “NEW YEAR’S EVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

